Weekly Update: February 6 – February 12

Whew! It was a busy week, and I can’t believe how quickly it passed by. I love traveling, and it was awesome to get down to Texas to see Erin and run a half marathon together. I can’t remember the last time we actually ran a race the entire way together, so it felt amazing (despite horrible weather).

I’ve never trained through a half marathon so the experience was interesting. I didn’t taper at all this week or take it easy, so I knew I was going into the race fatigued.  It was super helpful to have Erin there to remind me to hydrate and eat, and to keep me straight on tempo-ing the race as opposed to racing it.  Still had a blast!

Monday, February 6: Running was great! I headed to Roosevelt Island with my friend Megan and we did some easy loops on the trails and enjoyed the beautiful day. My legs felt a little more tired than I thought they would coming out of a rest week, but it was still a great run.

(5.1 trail miles, 8:19 min/mile pace)

Tuesday, February 7: Workout day! I wasn’t feeling the greatest this morning so I was really apprehensive about the workout.  But after the warm up and the first two repeats, I fell into my groove and was okay.  Ran my standard pyramid workout – 15 minute warm up followed by 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 minute speed work with equal rest in between.  I cooled down outside for 16 minutes or so, rounding the day out at 11 miles or so!

(15 minute w.u., pyramid workout on treadmill: 9.2 miles, 7:07 min/mile pace)
(16 minute c.d. outside.  – 1.9 miles, 8:32 min/mile pace) 

I also did strengthening later – yay! I did 20-25 minutes of leg lifts, some squats and some abs.  Nothing too rigorous – didn’t want to make myself overly sore.

(20-25 minutes strengthening)

Wednesday, February 8: Run rest day! Today I did a lot of stretching and a decent amount of strengthening. For 38 minutes I did abs, squats, lunges, arm work, pushups and leg lifts.    Again, I was a little nervous about pushing it TOO hard because of the long weekend I knew I was going to have mileage-wise.

It was a BEAUTIFUL day today – 70 degrees! I really don’t know what to make of this winter, it’s kinda driving me insane.

img_0890
Went for a little walk in the 70 degree weather 🙂

(Run rest day)
(38 minutes strengthening)

Thursday, February 9: Travel day! I always get nervous about traveling even though I do it all the time.  I woke up super early to try and get a hill workout in but I quickly learned it wasn’t going to happen. I tried to go outside but it was SO WINDY out and rainy and I already didn’t feel good, so I turned right back around and went inside.

I was supposed to hit 7-8 miles, but as soon as I hopped on the treadmill I knew it wasn’t going to happen.  I had a headache and stomach pain and after 4.25 miles with a few hills thrown in there, I called it quits.

Flew out to Texas in the evening and enjoyed a quiet evening in with Erin, sipping wine and watching SNL.  Flying makes me extremely tired, so we went to bed around 10:30 pm, especially because we had an early

img_0901
my medicine and hokas – 2 essentials for my travels!

(4.25 treadmill miles – 7:58 min/mile pace)

Friday, February 10: Early morning wake-up call! Erin needed to work a half day so we headed to her office and I got in quite a few hours of writing in (hence the blog post you guys saw from me) while she worked.  Around lunch Erin headed down to the pool for a swim so I decided to get my run in around the campus she worked. There was a 1.3ish mile packed-gravel trail around the office buildings so I ran the loop a few times and really enjoyed the change in scenery.

Got a little excited out there and ran a few miles too fast, but still a good run. Had some knee pain and a little bit of shin pain on the right side.

After work Erin and I did some abs and then enjoyed the rest of the day in the hot, hot Houston sun :).

(5.3 miles outside, 7:44 min/mile pace)
(10-15 minutes abs)

Saturday, February 11: SO HUMID AND HOT TODAY. A front moved through the night before and when I headed out for my run I couldn’t believe how much the weather had changed from the day before. I ran 3.7 miles slowwwww down a packed trail and by the time I made it back to the apartment I was DRENCHED. Definitely started worrying about the half marathon the next day because it’s been quite awhile since I’ve run in the heat and humidity.

img_0928
Nice little trail I ran on through the Heights

Erin was out on her bike and I was waiting to run a few miles with her when she got back, so I walked until she was done.  Ended up walking about 2 miles, and then Erin and I headed out for another 3 miles.  We were dragging, but it was nice to get the work out done.

We picked up our packets and hid inside during the heat of the day since we were both feeling it.  Once the sun started to set, we went for another walk and it was beautiful.  I always forget how much I like going on walks.

img_0945
Delicious pre-race noms we made: gluten-free pasta with vegan sausage, spinach, zucchini, onions, fresh tomatoes, and tomato sauce!

Lots of stretching and icing and rolling at night before bed.  I felt a little bit of shin pain during my run and my knee was swollen from the heat, so I was trying to work everything out before the race the next morning.

(3.7 miles run outside: 8:20 min/mile pace)
(2 mile walk)
(3.1 mile run outside with Erin: 9:22 min/mile pace)

Sunday, February 12: Half marathon day! Erin and I woke up at 5:15 AM to start getting ready for the race and to eat breakfast.  Unfortunately, I was not feeling well and was a little sick to my stomach.  I don’t know if it was something I ate the day before or what (I certainly wasn’t nervous since Erin and I knew we were just going to tempo together) but being sick actually made me nervous since I was worried about dehydration.

img_0953
Houston all lit up as we drove to the race in the morning. Hazy and jungle-like.

When we got to the race start I was still not feeling well and most of our time was spent running back and forth to the bathrooms. Kinda reminded me of how sick my stomach always was this past summer, so I tried to remind myself I’ve run in these conditions before. I drank a good amount of water and gatorade before the race to try and balance everything out.

Erin and I warmed up a mile to assess the heat and humidity.  Did some stretching and before we knew it, we were off.

I’d say most of our splits were right around 8:00 min/mile pace. I definitely was feeling the  humidity on the second half of the race, but running next to Erin was fantastic for me because she’s so good about hydrating and eating on the run. I ran with a hand-held water bottle holding a mixture of gatorade and water inside, and I am SO HAPPY I brought it. The race had water stations sporadically spread here and there on the course, so I definitely would have gotten dehydrated without my bottle.  I ate powergel at mile 5 and mile 10 and it helped a little bit, but I was definitely dizzy by the last few miles.

Despite the stupid weather, Erin and I still had a lot of fun together. It was nice being able to talk with someone the entire race and commiserate together. I helped keep her on pace when she started to fall behind a little and she helped me at the points I was feeling the heat a bit too much.

Finishing was awesome. The race was long – 13.3 miles instead of 13.1 miles. I noticed throughout the course the mile markers were incredibly off, and I worried the race would be long (and I was right).  We hung out in the park and listened to some music afterward and drank a few beers. It made running in the wretched heat totally worth it.

I don’t think I would do the race again (poor organization, torturous 2-loop course) but I enjoyed my time with Erin for sure.  We’ll find something better next year.

img_0957
Bling bling from the race – Erin and I took 2nd and 3rd in our age group 🙂

(1 mile warm up – 9:12 min/mile pace)
(13.3 “half marathon” – 1:44:53 – 7:52 min/mile pace)

img_0958
Couldn’t wait to get this ramen after the race. Perfect recovery food with all that salty broth – SO GOOD.

Flew home at night after a nice, relaxing day and OMG my flight was crazy. Smooth until we got to DC and our pilot tried to land in the 60 mph wind storm.  I’ve never been so uncomfortable and nervous on an airplane.  He had to circle around 2-3 times as he attempted to land and the whole plane was being tossed around in the sky like a rag doll.  I was SO PUMPED to finally touch ground and be out of the sky. Kudos to the pilot – I have no idea how he did it – I thought for sure they were going to send us to another airport.  Those 40 minutes of trying to land got my heart working harder than it did all morning during the half marathon.

WEEKLY TOTAL MILEAGE: 47 MILES!!!

NOTES ON THE WEEK: SO happy with the mileage and doing strengthening/abs 3x this week.  Maybe I can do 3-4x this week and also throw a little cross-training in there as well :).

Leave a Reply

